Sell WoW Gold

WoW Shadowlands Covenants – The Ultimate Guide!

WoW Shadowlands Covenants
By | April 14th, 2020 | Categories: World of Warcraft

Ever since Shadowlands was first announced at Blizzcon 2019, WoW fans have been fascinated by one particular feature. This of course is Shadowlands’ covenants that are an integral part of WoW’s 8th expansion. And that’s why we’ve created the ultimate Shadowlands covenant guide out there!

It’s safe to say that these so-called covenants can be considered the focal point of this expansion. I say this with all due respect to the brilliant (in my opinion) level squish that brings the level cap back to 60 as it was during vanilla.

But there are many questions that people ask when it comes to the Shadowlands’ covenants, and we’re here to try to answer them!

While you’re at it, check out how to prepare for WoW Shadowlands!

What are the Shadowlands Covenants?

The Shadowlands covenants represent the four new zones in this new continent. Each covenant comes with a unique campaign associated with specific gear and certain abilities – some that are universal and others that are determined by your character’s class.

These are the four covenants that you’ll find in this expansion:

  1. Night Fae (main realm – Ardenweald)
  2. Kyrian (main realm – Bastion)
  3. Necrolord (main realm – Maldraxxus)
  4. Venthyr (main realm – Revendreth)

When you hit the “new” level cap (60), you’ll gain access to covenant-specific rewards, abilities, transmogs etc. But before you join a covenant, you’ll be slowly introduced to them in relation to the lore.

How Do You Join a Covenant in Shadowlands?

To join one of the four Shadowlands covenants you’ll have to reach level 60. Then you can choose the one that appeals the most to you as this will enable you to experience the next part of this expansion’s storyline.

Once you’ve chosen your covenant you’ll start doing various tasks to prove your worth to your particular covenant. Thus, you’ll engage in a specific storyline and campaign that’s directly related to your own covenant.

And this is where Shadowlands comes on top of Battle for Azeroth because in BfA you could only try two specific campaigns. But in the new expansion, there are four factions (covenants) to choose from.

In a nutshell, your choice of a covenant will directly impact your gameplay, especially since changing covenants comes at a price.

How Do You Discover the Covenants When You First Enter the Shadowlands?

This happens by default as once you enter the Shadowlands you’ll have to go through the entire storyline of this new continent/world. There’s a natural progression within the Shadowlands narrative that begins at The Maw.

Then you’ll have to escape this dreaded zone, and this is where your journey throughout the four covenants of Shadowlands truly begins. With that being said, here is the order of the zones when you kick off at level 50:

  1. Bastion
  2. Maldraxxus
  3. Ardenweald
  4. Revendreth

And once you reach the level cap you get to the point where you may choose between the four covenants.

What are the Signature and Class Abilities of the Shadowlands Covenants?

Each character gets a total of 2 special abilities related to the selected covenant:

  • Covenant signature ability – This is the common (signature) ability across the particular covenant.
  • Covenant class ability – This is the class-specific ability.

You can’t choose between signature and class abilities because the former is common across all members of the covenant, while the latter depends on your class.

Okay, let’s now take a closer look at the special abilities for each covenant!

1. Kyrian Special Abilities

Signature ability

  • Summon steward

Class combat ability

  • Death Knight – Shackle the Unworthy
  • Demon Hunter – Elysian Decree
  • Druid – Kindred Spirits
  • Hunter – Resonating Arrow
  • Mage – Radiant Spark
  • Monk – Weapons of Order
  • Paladin – Divine Toll
  • Priest – Boon of the Ascended
  • Rogue – Echoing Reprimand
  • Shaman – Vesper Totem
  • Warlock – Scouring Tithe
  • Warrior – Spear of Bastion

2. Venthyr Special Abilities

Signature ability

  • Door of Shadows

Class combat ability

  • Death Knight – Swarming Mist
  • Demon Hunter – Sinful Brand
  • Druid – Ravenous Frenzy
  • Hunter – Flayed Shot
  • Mage – Mirrors of Torment
  • Monk – TBA
  • Paladin – Ashen Hallow
  • Priest – Mindgames
  • Rogue – Slaughter
  • Shaman – Chain Harvest
  • Warlock – Impending Catastrophe
  • Warrior – Condemn

3. Necrolord Special Abilities

Signature ability

  • Fleshcraft

Class combat ability

  • Death Knight – Abomination Limb
  • Demon Hunter – TBA
  • Druid – Adaptive Swarm
  • Hunter – Death Chakram
  • Mage – Deathborne
  • Monk – TBA
  • Paladin – TBA
  • Priest – Unholy Nova
  • Rogue – Serrated Bone Spike
  • Shaman – TBA
  • Warlock – Decimating Bolt
  • Warrior – Conqueror’s Banner

4. Night Fae Special Abilities

Signature ability

  • Soulshape

Class combat ability

  • Death Knight – Death’s Due
  • Demon Hunter – The Hunt
  • Druid – Convoke the Spirits
  • Hunter – TBA
  • Mage – Shifting Power
  • Monk – TBA
  • Paladin – TBA
  • Priest – TBA
  • Rogue – TBA
  • Shaman – TBA
  • Warlock – TBA
  • Warrior – TBA

What are the Benefits/Rewards Related to Covenants?

These are the most noteworthy rewards across all four covenants:

  • World benefits like making your own abomination to help you during battles.
  • Unique cloak appearance for each covenant.
  • Covenant-specific armor and weapon sets.
  • Upgradable mounts.

Of course, you can expect to see the complete and detailed list of each covenant reward when Shadowlands goes live.


There’s no doubt that the Shadowlands covenants are one of the most intriguing parts of the gameplay in World of Warcraft’s 8th expansion. Each of these four new zones offer a unique approach to the storyline of the expansion and you’re also getting plenty of neat covenant-specific rewards. And the great thing is that you now know what covenants are, how to join them, what the specific abilities are and more!

So, what’s your favorite covenant and why? Let us know by leaving a comment in the comment section below!

Leave A Comment